Week 3 Complete

Yesterday marked the end of week 3 of eating keto (is that a commonly used phrase? I’m going to go ahead and continue to use it anyway) and it shouldn’t be, but is, surprising to realize how easy it is to adapt low carb to life. I’m not craving cereal and bread like I used to (though that doesn’t mean I don’t still miss it!) and it’s much easier to manage meals & snacks and get closer to our macros compared to three weeks ago, when we had to plan what we were eating days in advance.

In the last entry I mentioned measuring my body fat percentage as another way to track progress, since I’m not trying to lose weight. Well, that sort of went according to plan. Turns out it’s pretty difficult to use the calipers to measure the back of your upper arm, ESPECIALLY when you have almost no fat there (I’ve just always had lean toned arms, along with skinny shapeless legs and a doughy middle). So I’ve decided my main way to track body fat percentage will just be by measuring my suprailiac skinfold (the one above the hipbone). It’s where I have the most fat, and it’s easy to measure by myself.

As far as progress between last Saturday (6/29) and this past Saturday (7/6) I saw a very slight drop in BF% (so slight I might attribute it to user error), I went up about 1.5lbs (I’m still weighing myself, just not using it to track progress – I’m attributing the rise to water retention because I started exercising again), and no change in waist/hip measurements. I wasn’t really discouraged, just kind of confused, so I headed to the keto subreddit FAQ (for as much crap as reddit gets, /r/keto is full of amazing people) and read up on general progress, and somehow after almost three weeks, plus another week I had researched before starting, I completely missed the existence of PISS – post induction stall syndrome. It’s a 1-2 week period where your body is one of the various stages of adjustment it goes through on keto, and there is no change in anything. This made me feel a little better in that I wasn’t doing something completely wrong.

I had my first carb-up day on Saturday (really I just couldn’t resist some regular chocolate ice cream and some doughnut holes, and I’m sure it was enough to kick me out of ketosis). Everything I read said to wait 3-4 weeks for your first carb-up day, and then do it weekly, although after eating all the doughnuts I wondered if I should have waited until after my PISS stage had passed, but oh well. It was tasty and my cravings can subside for another 2-or-so weeks. Apparently having cheat days is more of a debate than I had thought – do you do cheat days, or even cheat meals? (Personally I think it will keep any sugary cravings at bay for me, because it’s easy to hop back into keto the following day, but not everyone operates the same way!)

One thought on “Week 3 Complete

  1. Pingback: Keto Noob Adventures | End Week 5, Progress & Carb Addiction

Leave a Reply

