Starting Out – Why I’m Trying Keto

I’ve been a pretty slim person all my life, but that was mostly luck. Okay, it was all luck – I would just eat whatever I wanted and never really gain weight. For most of my adult life I’ve hover around 115 pounds.

My husband, however, is not so blessed. He looks at a cake and gains two pounds. He’s been trying to lose the last ten pounds for a while now, and came across keto when talking to other people who were trying it out, and how they lost the fat quickly.

We talked about it and decided to try it out for at least two weeks. This seems like enough time to be able to get the hang of it (the beginning is always difficult), and see how it will impact our food bill. (Although a lot of what I’ve read is that people’s food bills have lowered, the massive Costco shop we’re about to do is intimidating!) So, while he’s trying to lose the last bit of weight, I’m going to be supportive and do this with him. It’s not like it could hurt, there are so many non-weight related benefits of keto!

Using this calculator, I’ve determined I should be aiming for 1558 calories per day – this is about what I was eating before, so it isn’t a stretch by any means. We’re not going to exercise in the beginning – we want to make sure our bodies aren’t going to have any funny reactions; we’ve both pushed ourselves too hard and it never ends well. I’ve also read about the “keto flu” (more info here) and I KNOW I’m not going to want to exercise with that! My plan for exercise is, once I know my body is adjusted, I’m going to start NROL4W (again, for the third time) to make all this muscle-friendly food do its job! (In my defense, I got through level 1 of NROL4W and my biceps went up to a whopping TEN INCHES. Look out for these guns.)

Yesterday was day one – it was a little difficult, because you’re trying to keep track of so many other numbers besides calories. At the end of the day, I had a 268 calorie deficit (which isn’t too bad, considering I’m not trying to lose weight), consumed 20 net carbs (I’m aiming to not go over 30, hooray there!), consumed 100g of protein (slightly over, but not a big deal), and 73g of fat, which had me at a 48g deficit. I can tell already that getting enough fat is going to be a challenge, but part of the problem is a lot of what we have in the house is still the fat-free stuff. I refuse to throw it out and waste it, so I finished off the fat-free sour cream & fat-free Mexican cheese last night, and am about halfway through the fat-free cottage cheese. I’m hoping the simple switch to non-fat-free products will make those numbers easier to nail.

Totals 1,290 68 73 100 12 32
Your Daily Goal 1,558 39 121 78 19 32
Remaining 268 -29 48 -22 7 0
Calories Carbs Fat Protein Fiber Sugar

(via my MFP diary)

Feel free to friend me on MFP, I’m always looking for health-conscious friends!

2 thoughts on “Starting Out – Why I’m Trying Keto

  1. Adding you on MFP. 🙂

Leave a Reply

